All articles
Tesla

Tesla Roadster 2026: price, specs, release date and the 'flying car' explained

Tesla finally unveiled the second-generation Roadster on 15 October 2026, nine years after it first took deposits. Here is everything confirmed so far: the three trims, the claimed 0-60 times, what a reservation costs, when it will actually be built, and what is still unknown.

RNM Admin16 October 20268 min read
Tesla Roadster 2026: price, specs, release date and the 'flying car' explained

On the evening of 15 October 2026, at SpaceX's test site at McGregor, near Waco in Texas, Tesla showed the car it first promised in November 2017: the second-generation Roadster. It drove up an inverted ramp, spun, landed, and hopped over a row of other Tesla vehicles on cold-gas thrusters. Elon Musk called it "the best of the last of the human-driven cars."

Nine years of delays meant most of the audience already knew the headline numbers by heart. What they did not have until this week was a set of trims, a reservation price for each, and a production year. This guide collects what Tesla actually confirmed, separates it from what it only claimed, and lists what is still missing.

The short version

  • Unveiled: 15 October 2026, near Waco, Texas, after a planned 1 October event was postponed for rain.
  • Three trims: Performance (two seats), Thrust (two seats, rear cold-gas thrusters) and Rocket (one seat, ten thrusters, invite only, off-road use).
  • Claimed performance: 0-60 mph in under one second for the thruster trims, a top speed above 230 mph and more than 300 miles of range. None of this has been independently tested.
  • Price: not announced. Reservations cost $50,000 (Performance) and $250,000 (Thrust).
  • Release date: Musk said production will start in 2028, at Gigafactory Texas.
  • If you are deciding whether to reserve, read the deposit terms first, and remember this is the sixth production date the car has been given.

What is the new Tesla Roadster?

The Roadster is Tesla's halo car: a low, two-seat electric sports car meant to show what the company can do rather than to sell in volume. The first Roadster, built on a Lotus Elise chassis, was Tesla's first product in 2008. The second generation was revealed as a prototype in 2017 alongside the Tesla Semi, with promises of 0-60 mph in 1.9 seconds, about 620 miles of range and a starting price of $200,000.

The car shown in October 2026 is a redesign of that prototype: stark white, angular, and, according to Tesla, inspired by the SR-71 and F-35 aircraft. TechCrunch noted the resemblance to the Lotus Esprit from the James Bond film The Spy Who Loved Me, which Musk owns and which was on display at the event.

Tesla Roadster 2026 specs: what Tesla claims

Every figure below is Tesla's own. The car has not been tested by any independent outlet, and Tesla has not published a full specification sheet.

PerformanceThrustRocket
Tesla's tagline"Road ready""Race ready""Air ready"
Seats221
ThrustersNone; active aero and a "multi-mode suction system"Rear-mounted cold-gas thrustersTen cold-gas thrusters around the car
Claimed 0-60 mphNot stated separatelyUnder 1 second (0.81 s quoted)Under 0.59 s quoted
Claimed range300+ miles300+ miles300+ miles
Claimed top speed230+ mph230+ mph230+ mph
Reservation$50,000$250,000Invite only
Road useRoad carRoad carOff-road only, per Tesla

Other figures reported from the event and summarised on Wikipedia: more than 1,341 horsepower for the Performance trim, DC charging above 500 kW, a target kerb weight under 3,700 lb and a 111.2-inch wheelbase. Top Gear reported that every version will be rear-wheel drive with two rear motors, a change from the three-motor, all-wheel-drive layout promised in 2017. Tesla did not disclose the battery size.

How much does the Tesla Roadster cost?

Tesla did not announce a price at the event. What it did publish is the reservation amount for each trim on tesla.com/roadster:

  • Performance: $50,000 reservation
  • Thrust: $250,000 reservation
  • Rocket: invitation only

When reservations reopened in September 2026, ahead of the planned 1 October reveal, reports from Kelley Blue Book and others described the $50,000 deposit as fully refundable, collected as a $5,000 card payment followed by a $45,000 wire transfer within ten days. Tesla's terms said the final price could change as options and packaging were finalised.

For reference, Tesla quoted $200,000 for the base car and $250,000 for the Founders Series when it first took deposits in 2017. Nobody outside Tesla knows whether the 2028 car will be priced near those figures. Some preview sites have guessed $200,000 to $250,000. Treat any number you see before Tesla publishes one as a guess.

If you are outside the US, we work through what the deposit and a likely price mean in rupees and dirhams, including Pakistan's 2026 import taxes, in Tesla Roadster price in Pakistan and the UAE.

When is the Tesla Roadster release date?

Musk said at the event that Tesla will build the car in 2028, at Gigafactory Texas. CNBC reported that he did not give a delivery date or a price.

That date deserves the same caution as the ones before it. Here is the record:

When it was saidProduction promised for
November 2017, prototype reveal2020
January 20212022
September 20212023
May 20232024
February 20242025
November 2025Unveil on 1 April 2026, production 12 to 18 months later
September 2026Unveil on 1 October 2026 (moved to 15 October for rain)
October 2026Production in 2028

The timeline above follows the history on Wikipedia and Tesla's own announcements. Musk himself told the audience he was "not sure it moves the needle massively from a revenue standpoint," which suggests the Roadster will not be at the front of the queue for factory capacity.

How do the SpaceX thrusters work?

The thrusters are cold-gas thrusters: they release stored, high-pressure gas through nozzles rather than burning fuel. SpaceX uses the same principle for small manoeuvres on its rockets and spacecraft.

According to Tesla engineering VP Lars Moravy, quoted by TechCrunch, the car's ten thrusters are fed from about 600 litres of compressed air stored in carbon-fibre-overwrapped pressure vessels packed into "every usable void" of the car, and the tank can be refilled. The thrusters add push for acceleration, braking and cornering, and in the demo they lifted the car briefly into the air.

The Performance trim has no thrusters. Instead it uses fans to create suction under the car, pulling it towards the road for more grip, an idea motorsport fans will recognise from the Brabham BT46B "fan car" of 1978.

Whether the car can really fly is the question most people searched after the event. We look at what the demo did and did not show in Is the Tesla flying car real?

Is the Tesla Roadster safe and street legal?

Tesla says the Performance and Thrust trims are road cars and the Rocket is for off-road use only. No version has been through crash testing or regulatory approval yet, which is normal for a car two years from production.

Musk was unusually direct about priorities. He told the audience that "safety is not the main goal" for the Roadster, that Tesla would "aspire not to kill anyone in this car," and that buyers who put safety first should not buy it. That is worth knowing before you send a deposit.

Should you reserve a Tesla Roadster?

That is a personal decision, but it is also a financial one, and it can be looked at like any other.

  • A refundable deposit is still an interest-free loan to Tesla. $50,000 held for two years in an account paying 4% would earn roughly $4,000. For the Thrust trim's $250,000, the same arithmetic gives about $20,000.
  • Check the refund mechanics, not just the word "refundable". Read how a refund is requested, how long it takes and whether any part of the payment is treated differently.
  • Price is still open. You are reserving a place in a queue, not agreeing a price. Decide in advance what price would make you walk away.
  • The date is still open. Plan as if delivery could slip again.

What the Roadster tells business owners about launches

Tesla has used Roadster deposits since 2017 in a way many founders will recognise: as a demand signal and as cheap working capital, collected years before delivery. It works for a brand with an audience that will wait. It also has a cost. Each missed date in the table above was reported widely, and well-known reviewers including Marques Brownlee publicly questioned whether the October announcement was serious.

If you are planning a product launch, a pre-order campaign or a waitlist, the lesson is to promise the date you can defend, collect only what you are prepared to refund quickly, and tell customers early when something moves. Our growth strategy consulting work covers launch planning of exactly this kind, and our notes on the automotive sector set out how pricing and supply decisions play out in the car market.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Tesla Roadster a flying car?

Not in the sense of an aircraft. The thruster trims can lift the car briefly off the ground and hop over obstacles, as the demo showed, but Tesla has not claimed sustained flight and nothing it showed has been certified to fly. See our full breakdown of the demo.

How much is the Tesla Roadster in 2026?

No price has been announced. Reservations cost $50,000 for the Performance trim and $250,000 for the Thrust trim. Tesla's 2017 quote for the base car was $200,000.

When can I buy a Tesla Roadster?

You can reserve one now on Tesla's website. Musk said production will start in 2028. Deliveries would follow after that, and Tesla has not given a delivery date.

How fast is the 2026 Tesla Roadster?

Tesla claims 0-60 mph in under one second for the Thrust trim, a top speed above 230 mph and more than 300 miles of range. These figures have not been independently tested. For how they compare with cars you can buy today, see Roadster vs Model S Plaid vs Rimac Nevera.

Is the Roadster reservation refundable?

Reports from September 2026 described the $50,000 deposit as fully refundable. Read the current terms on tesla.com before paying, because Tesla can change them.

Sources

Reporting from the event by TechCrunch, CNBC, CBS News and CNN; the history and specifications summary on Wikipedia; reservation terms reported by Kelley Blue Book; and Tesla's Roadster page. Figures are as reported on 15 and 16 October 2026.

Work with us on this

Growth & Strategy

We work on this with founders and boards directly, and the first conversation is about whether the plan survives contact with your numbers.

Ready when you are

Let's build the next chapter of your business: together.

Tell us where you are and where you want to go. We'll come prepared.